Tags

, ,

It was back in 2007 I first tried ‘Homegrown’ F8a+ up at The Remnant, It contains some very powerful climbing on undercuts with an extremely drop-able move at the top.  Unsurprisingly, this is where I fell off back then.

Attempting ‘Homegrown’ in 2007.

I went  back up their yesterday with Bungle and Jason, we all had our projects to work on.  Jason on “It’s a Kind of Magic’ F7a+/b, Bungle on ‘Everyday Lives…’ F7c and me back on ‘Homegrown’ F8a+ after 4 years.  There were a few light misty showers in the air but luckily The Remnant stays pretty dry.  On my first RP attempt I managed to power my through to the undercut rest just below the drop-able move on the head-wall.  I rested for as long as I could, pulled up into the groove and funnily enough couldn’t latch the crucial intermediate crimp.  Exactly the same point I fell from back in 2007!! One move away from finally doing the route.

We left The Remnant with our tails between our legs and a combined success rate of zero!  Nevertheless I’m happy to have even got that far on it again and if the weather holds out long enough hopefully it will go soon.