Tags

, ,

So we finally got a break in the weather and decided our best hope of dry rock was going to be Costa Del Brean Down, Somerset.  Saturday I had a training day, repeating routes I have done before and enjoying the sunshine with Steve Winslow.  Steve (having been away doing a ski season) was just getting back into the swing of climbing again and had a good few goes on ‘The Root of Iniquity’ f7a+, but returned empty-handed having fallen off the top many times.

Steve and I comparing tans.  Guess who’s been to Kalymnos recently!

Sunday morning and we were on the motorway back down to Brean.  Another hot sunny day, with a cool breeze which kept conditions perfect for most of the day.  With a couple of warm ups under the belt I got on a link up of Chris Savage’s called ‘The Milky Bar Kid’ f8a ***.  It takes in the best parts of all three routes, starting up ‘Prisoner…’ f7b+ links into the crux of ‘Bullworker’ f7c and then steps right into the crux mantle at the top of ‘El Chocco’ F7c.  The RP crux (for me anyway) being the large span across into ‘El Chocco’.  I managed to do this on my first RP later that day.  That’s the quickest I have ever done an 8 before, I think all that training is starting to pay off.

Heather on ‘Pearl Harbour’ f7a

My wife even turned up to throw some shapes for the camera.

Steve got back on ‘The Root of Iniquity’ and with a bit of slapping made it to the chains.  He’s making his come back!!  Robyn came close yet again to finishing ‘Tide Rising’, that will definitely go soon Bobby.  With my route for the day in the bag we went back to repeating the classics for training purposes.  ‘Tide Rising’, ‘Pearl Harbour’ and ‘Chipeto’.  Heather also had a really good go at ‘Pearl Harbour’ to finish the day off.

You know you’ve had a good weekend out climbing, when you end up like this!

Thanks for the photo Aimee.

And straight back into the stamina training plan on Monday, must try to keep it going.