Tags

, ,

As planned Ben, Heather and I headed back to Split Rock on sunday for round 2 with ‘Smashing of Amps’ F7c+.  Last time I was on this I figured out all the moves pretty quickly but proceeded to fall off the hard move at the start 4-5 times in a row.  Something Tom found highly amusing at the time.

Today was hopefully going to be different.  It was a cold clear day, not a cloud in the sky.  Conditions on previous trips to Split Rock this year, have been far from perfect, but today was looking good.  After warming up with several laps of top roping ‘Video Kills’ E3 and running up and down the hill rigging an ab line to take photo’s on, Ben went for the on-sight but unfortunately, but, not surprisingly came unstuck at the stopper move by the first bolt.

Coming out of the darkness on the first hard move.

At first bolt.

Ben continued up it trying to find the holds and putting the draws in, extending a few on the way down for the shorter one of us.  My first go was just to familiarize myself with the route again, as it had been a few months since I last tried it. Both of us then fell off the start on our first RP of the day, Ben lowered off and went again, this time coming off at the crux at the base of the hanging slab.

Ben on the start of ‘Smashing of Amps’

Lay-backing the crack.

‘Smashing of Amps’

‘Smashing of Amps’

Long stretch before the crux.

The gaston crux move.

Long stretch before the crux.

Inspecting his split tips on the slab.

Mounting up onto the slab.

I pulled back on for another go, I got through the crux, scrabbled up onto the slab and made it to the chains.

Another long stretch near the top.

Ben then got through the crux, in doing so split a third tip, but lost his balance and dropped it at the top, screaming ‘I’m just going to strip it’ followed by ‘I’ll have one more go with taped tips’.  This next go was more successful, even with three taped finger tips and we were happy to pack up and get out of the cold.

At the start of this day, I decided this would be the last hard route I’d try this year in this country.  With it getting colder, I’m definitely noticing my backs getting stiffer and aching a bit more.  Also I’m getting married in 17 days so I should probably concentrate on getting that sorted.

Aimee and I then go on a 6 week honeymoon trip around the world, which does include 2 weeks in Thailand!!  Bring on the tufas!!